Connect with us

DIY Projector Lift

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by TroelsL, Aug 31, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. TroelsL

TroelsL

Aug 31, 2014
    Hi,

Let me first describe my project. I wish to create an in-ceiling hidden compartment for my home theatre projector. For this purpose, I will try to make a scissor lift using a horizontally mounted linear actuator and a pulley. I am sure this project sounds less than daunting for you, but bear in mind that I have little experience in electronics.

My question is this: Is this project too ambitious for a novice?

Currently, I know little other than the actuator seems to be the best approach for lowering the projector 30-50 cm (12-20").

I also have a home automation system, which has 24v programmable outputs, which I can hopefully to control the actuator.

I'm hoping that this will be simply enough to do, as it would be ideal to be able to control the lift using the existing home automation system. Any thoughts?

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi there
    welcome to the forums :)

I don't know if you know that these units are available commercially ? it may pay to check out prices if you come to realise that building one may be too difficult

Personally, not something I would attempt unless it was a kit assembly ... a bit too mechanical for me ;)

Dave

KrisBlueNZ likes this.
  3. Gryd3

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
    This is probably what will stump you/us. The electronics part is easy to think out, draw out, and calculate.
    The mechanical portion of this has many many solutions and different options for hardware. It can easily be under-engineered or over-engineered.
    If you have the mechanical portion down, we can help with motor drivers and such ;)

4. TroelsL

TroelsL

Aug 31, 2014
    Thanks for your replies (and the welcome). The mechanical part seems manegeable to me. I'm basically stealing the idea from this video: