Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DIY high precision linear pot. Cheap too if possible!

ausmomo

Mar 26, 2015
Hi all,

I'm a hobbyist taking his first (adult) steps into electronics. Apologies in advance for the incorrect terms I'm about to unleash on you :)

I need;
  • ~250mm linear/slide pot
  • high precision
  • cheap-ish (under USD$15)
  • durable (1 mil "slides")
  • free flowing, ie little (edit: constant is more important) resistance felt by user
I've looked at the market, and so far haven't found much. I found the Magnetopot by Spectra Symbol Corp, but it's a bit on the expensive side and (if I read things correctly), not very precise.

I've thought about making one with a "string" and a high precision rotary pot, but the pot alone is ~$80.

Standard slide pots are 100mm max, not the 250mm I need.

I can move a bit on the cheap requirement, but I can't alter my other requirements by much.

Any advice on a possible solution? Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Can you define what you mean by "precision"?

ausmomo

Mar 26, 2015
Um... not precisely!

I want accuracy (the slide is where it thinks it is) and also precision w.r.t decimal places. I've not thought about how many decimal places I need. It won't be absurd. At a guess, and with no knowledge of what's possible, I'd say down to 0.5mm. If the precision is worse than 1mm then I might not be able to do what I'm hoping to do. Thanks,

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
So, what you mean is that if you pace the slider in exactly the same position, you want the resistance to vary by less than 0.4% (or to state it the opposite way, if the slider is moved so that the same resistance is measured, the position of the slider should not vary more than +/- 1mm from the "average" position).