Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Display cabinet - PIR motion sensor & LED lights

Ronnie_Space

Jun 19, 2014
Hi Electronic Point Forum!

I am a designer by trade, but an electronic amateur, any help with this project would be highly appreciated and I will post back finished results/test for your interest.

I am making a clear display case for a model. I would like LED lights to activate when a viewer walks pass the display, and to stay on for a short amount of time say 10-15 secs.

I have the PIR Sensor HC-SR501 from ebay and it can be tuned to output a signal for the 10-15 second period I am looking for, the infra red range works perfect for my needs too.

I rigged up the PIR with a transistor circuit (see diagram below - transistor 2N4401), which I was hoping would let me utilize the full 6V of the power source (6V is required for the PIR). This works in that I can run multiple LED's in parallel, however, the LED's are not quite as bright as I had hoped for.

I want to run the LED's at 3.2V 20mA, and therefore with a 6V battery used a 150 ohm resistor, this is fine in a simple test LED/battery circuit and I see 3.2V measured across the LED' with a multi-meter. However, putting them into the transistor circuit below I only measure 2.8V across the LED's, even if I remove the resistors before the LED's?

How can I get the LED's to run brighter (3.2V)?

I am also unsure if:

• Does there need to be a resistor limiting the input to the Base of the transistor?
  • Have drawn/made the circuit in the correct manner?
  • Estimated battery life (using x4 AA Duracell coppertops in series for 6V)
diagram.jpg

Here is a video of the circuit with the light display set at a few seconds:

Any help much appreciated, as I am very close to getting this there!

Ronnie

PIR Sensor HC-SR50 Datasheet
http://www.mpja.com/download/31227sc.pdf

Transistor 2N4401 Datasheet
https://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/2N/2N4401.pdf

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Welcome aboard, Ronnie.