Connect with us

Discussion on the Problems and Inefficiencies seen with Hardware Bring-up

Discussion in 'PCB Layout, Design and Manufacture' started by dday, Sep 21, 2018.

1. dday

dday

Sep 19, 2018
    Hello all,

I am an electrical engineering undergraduate currently in the process of starting my senior design project (capstone) with an idea based around solving test and debug inefficiencies in the hardware bring-up realm.

I’d like to start a conversation about what really grinds your gears at your workplace, or on your downtime at home, while testing, debugging and validating new board designs. Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

To get things started here are some of the questions I'd really like to be discussed:
    • What type of information (and medium) do you have about a board while you are testing it?
    • Through your experience, what points in your testing workflow do you see as inefficient?
    • What is the biggest problem you’ve faced while performing bring-up on a new PCB?
    • What parts of your PCB design software did you find most helpful with bringing up a new board?

Thank you in advance to anyone that can provide feedback on this subject as it will really help my capstone team narrow what to build and help validate some of our potential ideas.

Cheers,
    Darryl

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    I wish I had an oscilloscope for software and that I could single step hardware :)

dday likes this.
  3. Bluejets

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
    Holesaw that cuts square holes would be a big help.

gorgon, dday and (*steve*) like this.
  4. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    PCB layout to schematic (reversal) would also be good......

dday likes this.
  5. dday

dday

Sep 19, 2018
    Do you mean something like taking a picture of a board and it produces a schematic or you insert your PCB layout file into a program and it creates a schematic?

6. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    Yes, exactly.