Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Disable UPS Charger

eviveiros

Jun 11, 2011
I am trying to disable the charger on a Tripp lite internet525u UPS. I have hooked up the UPS to two 35ah 12v SLA batteries in parallel and it works great but I want to hook up an external battery charger and disable the UPS internal charger. Can someone point me in the right direction to accomplishing this. I have good soldiering skills but I'm a beginner at circuitry.

Here are some images of the PCB.

circuit1.jpg

circui2.jpg

View the photos bigger on my picasa album here
https://picasaweb.google.com/109006...authkey=Gv1sRgCIm15am-jpml2AE&feat=directlink

Thanks

MagicMatt

Jun 15, 2011
You're talking as if you expect the sections of the circuit to be seperate, but in my limited experience of the inside of these things they tend to be merged, and so there wont be a seperate "charger" as such, it's likely to be integrated in with the USB communication etc.

I'm not sure why you want to use your own charger, but it's not going to be that simple, and as a beginner, you should use extreme caution playing with mains voltages.

eviveiros

Jun 11, 2011
I figured as much looking at the circuit, I'm going to use a 25a diode on the + battery side to keep it from charging it. thanks for the post.

fdi

Jun 24, 2011
Joining the club

I figured as much looking at the circuit, I'm going to use a 25a diode on the + battery side to keep it from charging it. thanks for the post.

With power diodes like that the voltage drop is gonna be over a volt, so when the ups is on battery power the diode would be wasting over 25 watts as heat. Also its gonna hugely affect the low battery shutdown feature, so the ups will be thinking the battery is empty too soon.