Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Direction of DC and AC current with diodes.

Status
Not open for further replies.

IntruderCell87

May 9, 2011
Hey guys I'm having a hard time grasping the concept of how diodes change the direction of current in DC and AC circuits. Im also a little confused about how AC current flows. As an audio student, I understand AC current fluctuates but in circuits I dont understand how it flows. Is it positive and negative current going in the same direction or is it constantly going all over the place back and forth? I am stressed with the idea further and maybe I misread here and there but do diodes work with DC current? If so if DC current flows in only one direction already do diodes reverse the direction sending the positive or negative current back to its terminal?

If AC current flows through a diode what happens when the AC current is reversed? Where does it go besides other components and back into the AC terminal (Wall/outlet). I just have this mind boggling idea of batteries exploding and houses blowing up!

I have pictures to further elaborate my questions.

DCcurrentandDiodeperception.gif

ACcurrentandDiodeperception.gif

Sorry for the poor quality graphics. The yellow is the load. I shoulded added a load in the AC diagram but I understand DC or AC cant have a complete/live circuit without one just wanted to demonstrate where Im at so far with understanding direction of currents and direction of currents with diodes.

Attachments

• AC current and Diode perception.gif
    AC current and Diode perception.gif
    9.7 KB · Views: 420
  • DC current and Diode perception.gif
    DC current and Diode perception.gif
    8 KB · Views: 956

Laplace

Apr 4, 2010