Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Diodes failing after getting really hot. Attached to UPS system.

Leonard Slattery

Sep 23, 2015
Hi guys I am new to this forum, I am an engineer for an instrument company. I have a problem that has me stumped.

We have an instrument in the field and that is failing. This instrument is attached to an APC UPS system. Various parts of the system have been failing in a weird way. We use 230V Cal controllers. The 230 V input side is malfunctioning. A diode is getting red hot and failing.(3 in a month and we haven't seen these fail before in 15 years.) There is also a 12 - 24 DC - DC converter that gets it's 12 v from an embedded P.C. A diode in this also failed in the exact same manner got red hot and failed.

Both these seem to be using the same style of standard circuit for power regulation. I don't have the exact schematic.
It looks like a standard diode that is failing not a zenor.

These are too coincidental not be related. Could there be something with the to do with a bad sine wave that is killing the components.

The information I got from the customer about the UPS is that it's running at a 230V with 2 volt fluctuation. They haven't checked the line with a scope.

Thanks in advance.

Lenny.

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
If I understand your problem, your INSTRUMENT is failing, but it's fed by a UPS that you believe is causing the failure.
If that's the case, somebody needs to take a look at the UPS output.
There's not much sense in trying to repair your instrument, if the UPS is just going to fry it again later.
Is that the correct situation?

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Without any information on the UPS model or output type or load, it's kinda hard to say.

1. If this is in one installation only, and everything that fails is connected to the ups, how hard is it to swap in a replacement ups for a while and see if the problem continues?