Connect with us

Diode Da Lima

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Doc_Holiday, Aug 9, 2017.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Doc_Holiday

Doc_Holiday

Aug 9, 2017
    I am not trying to repair an electronic device!!! I have a JLG lift with bad diodes integrated into a 12 volt system. I'm a mechanic with extensive wiring knowledge. But, even tho I have electronic understanding, no understanding of the repricussion of replacing the existing diode with a different valued one. The diode that's factory installed is a 6A60. It is on a relay to a dump valve that can be controlled in two places (on the ground at one controller, or thirty feet in the air at a second controller), and it's bad! (This much about electronic components, I know!!!) My question about this 6 amp, 600 volt, diode, is confusing to me!! Firstly, why is there a 600 volt diode being used on a 12 volt system!! Secondly, is there any thinkable reason that a 6 amp, 1000 volt diode wouldn't work just the same way...(if so, why not) and I guess I'd like to learn, if anyone can tell me, why diodes are integrated into the wiring harness of a 12 volt system anyway?? Why does a relay need a diode on the wire at all??? And what problems should arise from replacing a 1N4004 diode with a 1N4007 diode??? Hence: "Diode Dilemma" Thank you, Doc!!!!

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    When you connect power to an inductor (coil of wire) you create a magnetic field around it. When the power is removed the magnetic field collapses - as the field collapses it causes a voltage to be induced in the coil (a voltage in the reverse direction of that originally applied) and that voltage can exceed the original supply voltage by many times.
    The diode is meant to 'steer' the #over-voltage' away from the direction of damage. It's connected across coils as 'back e.m.f suppression' device.