Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Different power supply or just throw in a voltage regulator?

LucidSymmetry606

Mar 15, 2015
Hello to all. I hope I've posted this in the proper section and I apologize in advance if I haven't - this seemed to be the right place.

I'm relatively new to the world of circuitry/electronics and I hope my question won't give anyone an aneurysm due to its simplicity. I'm re-purposing a wireless doorbell and due to size constraints I'd like to change the receiver's power supply from three AA batteries down to a single 12-Volt "23A" battery. I've replaced the speaker in the receiver with a 3-Volt relay. Must I use a voltage regulator or will I get away with using a proper-value resistor to limit the voltage? Time is pressing for this project and I'd like to go with the option of least resistance and highest simplicity. Furthermore, would it be easier (and feasible) to instead use one or two 3-Volt button cells? Whichever power source I go with, it needs to power up to three indicating LED's at any given time so I can't simply get a 1-Volt relay and use a single AAA or AA battery.

More information: the unit is to be used for really short periods of time. I'm using this wireless doorbell receiver as the power source for igniting my model rockets. As stated previously, there's a relay with a 9-Volt that will be fed to a single e-match. As you can imagine, the unit will be set down, turned on, and activated after which it will be quickly turned off - this thing isn't expected to be on for long periods of time. I also do not mind having to change the batteries often.

There is however another option I have considered: I could use the 12-Volt "23A" to set off the e-match and go with the original two/three AAA battery configuration for the receiver. Do you think that the battery specified will have enough juice to make a 15Ω, 0.125-Watt resistor light up quickly?