Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Diesel tacho circuit

newbie19

Apr 2, 2018
Hello Friends,

I am a newbie to electronics . I want to understand the tacho circuit as shown in the figure. I figured out that this circuit uses CS8190 air core driver. I don't understand input circuit and the OPAMP circuit. This circuit uses OPAMP (LM324N) as buffer to drive CS8190 using external DC voltage . It also uses the LM2907 which converts the input frequency to voltage which i believe feeds the CS8190 through opamp. How ever i have the hard time understanding in detail the opamp & 2907 circuit.

Any help will be appereciated.

Thanks in advance !!

Attachments

• IMG_4943.jpg
    IMG_4943.jpg
    221 KB · Views: 115

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
If you replace the ic symbols with their actual circuit equivalents, it may appear clearer.
You answered your own question with the lm2907.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
Where did you get this schematic. Not to pile on, but package outlines usually make a schematic worse, not better.

A schematic tells the story of the electrical (*not* physical) relationships among the components, signals, and power supplies. Signals flow from left to right, power from top to bottom. And ground symbols *always* point down.

There are far too many 14 pin components to assume that an unknown viewer will carry around in his head the exact pinout for your components. This is especially true for compound components such as quad opamps and gates. Consider that TTL and CMOS quad NAND gates have very different pinouts, as do the closely related (and sometimes interchangeable) LM324 and LM339.

ak

newbie19

Apr 2, 2018
Where did you get this schematic. Not to pile on, but package outlines usually make a schematic worse, not better.

A schematic tells the story of the electrical (*not* physical) relationships among the components, signals, and power supplies. Signals flow from left to right, power from top to bottom. And ground symbols *always* point down.