Connect with us

Desktop help.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Reaper_666, Aug 13, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Reaper_666

Reaper_666

Aug 12, 2011
    Hiya everyone, i've been building and fixing computers for 5 years but my mums desktop has me stumped, it's running very slowly but it's not the hard drive, it doesn't need cleaning out it doesn't seem to be any of the software, i'm startng to think it might be the components, it's 5 years old but it's only recently it's started running slow. But what do you lot think, any surggestions or opinions ?

2. davelectronic

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
    Hi there
    the machine i am on is 8 years old, so its probably not the components, if the inside is clean of dust and muck especially the CPU heat sink and fan, then up the ram, clean out old junk files, defrag the drive, delete programs not needed or used, Google tips on speeding up my pc, i did a long time ago, my old machine runs sweet as a nut, only cost me £ 50 , oh check and scan for nasty's the usual, if all that fails reinstall the OS, and start from scratch, machines often get cluttered with junk files and massively slows the system.

You said you have been into pc building so i expect you have tried most of, if not all the above.
    Replace the primary drive and instal a fresh OS, beyond that i give up. Dave. PS my old monster is an e machine, 2.5 GHz CPU p4 2gb ram 40 GHz hdd, and a 250 GHz external hdd, and it more than 8 years old, ive another machine, an MSI thats cool and 10 years old, both my OS are XP Home. good luck with it. :)

3. Reaper_666

Reaper_666

Aug 12, 2011
    O_O oops i forgot to check the CPU for dust & muck and i completly forgot about the unused/junk software/files other than that i tried everything else.... i'm a idiot! lol, cheers mate!! :)

4. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    it may have a few viruses doing weird things in the background