Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DesignSpark - Etching Test File

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013
Hi All,

Does anyone have a test board design, which can be used to test the accuracy of the etching process for diy pcbs?

Something like this:

3579107328_4c5d40632e.jpg

Thanks,
Ash

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
Hello !
Into the PCB "busyness" i see :)

I personally dont have one but why dont you desing your own test pcb ? It is easy.

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013
Hello !
Into the PCB "busyness" i see :)

Yeah :rolleyes: I was planning to start making a few of my own. Which would go hand-in-hand with my final year project in university next year!

I created my own UV light box in a metal housing. It has a programmable timer connected to a relay, so I can switch on/off the UV at a precised time. Really nice will add pictures later if you wish.

It's my first time using design spark. I want to see how accurate the traces come out, but can't guarantee my own accuracy :confused:

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
UV sensitive PCB's are very nice but expensive. If you practice this method you will get good resaults but it does take practice.

Good luck my friend !

Sadlercomfort

Ash
Feb 9, 2013
I will be using copper clad board, I have photo-resist which i can apply myself. Hopefully will be much cheaper.

What PCB software do you use Constantine?

I'm trying to use designspark but when I place a component it doesn't show the solder pads.

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
I use expressPCB. it is very simple to use though i would not recomment it for complicated boards.

Eagle is the best if you are willing to spend time to learn how to use it !

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
Bad thing with ExpressPcb is it's limited component's database. You can assemble and save custom components though.

HellasTechn

Apr 14, 2013
Very nice :)

You could also include a field plane in part of the board if you like (say the center part). I think that would make it look better.

marduk

May 21, 2016