Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Design & Prototype

singen

Mar 25, 2012
Hello, I was looking for a good forum to get some advice for a project I'm looking into starting but I need some advice/help before I do any real work. First off I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics (I've soldered some psu wires and pc fans before but that's it).

I'm looking to make a computer keyboard but since I have zero knowledge of electronics I need to find a company or person(s) to design the circuitry and build a prototype (excluding the case). I'm a bit hesitant to ask but does anyone know a ballpark for designs typically? I cant imagine a keyboard being that complicated but what do I know. Also does anyone have any recommendations of where to get one done? I've found a few sites where I can get a circuit made but they require a design.

If anyone has any suggestions or advice I'd really appreciate it.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi singer
Welcome to the forums. :)

Well considering there are already a whole mass of different styles of keyboards out there for prices that range from a few dollars to less than fifty dollars for the fancy multi function ones.
Anything you design would have to be pretty spectacular and cheap to compete in the exiting market

If you are very new to electronics then the designing would obviously be done by some company which will cost you lots of money for both the designing and prototyping.
And at the end of it all you are doing is reinventing the wheel
For something worthwhile have a think "outside the box". And think about other ways of human - computer/ machine interfacing that doesn't require the usual style keyboard

Cheers
Dave

singen

Mar 25, 2012
Thank you for the respose davenn. Well the cost of design is my main concern right now before I think of the rest of the project. Do you happen to know how much designs usually cost for something of this nature (even just a guess would be appreciated) Thanks.

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
Hi