Connect with us

design buck converter with arduino controlling pwm

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers, Programming and IoT' started by Shahroll Azahari, Nov 18, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Shahroll Azahari

Shahroll Azahari

Nov 18, 2014
    i need a help. i am designing a buck converter which step down voltage from 24v to 12v. i am using irf 540 for my mosfet. inductor value is 90u and capacitor value is 20u. load resistance is 15ohm. i am a beginner to all this. i am confusing which mosfet driver circut should i use and how im gonna control pwm using arduino uno which the volt is 5v. really need help cause my project deadline is just around the corner. im attached my buck circuit below. USED CIRCUIT.JPG

2. chopnhack

chopnhack

Apr 28, 2014
    Do you mean that you are going to use more than one mosfet? Like in a synchronous design that has an upper/lower gate? or?

Where you show V2 is where the Arduino with PWM would go - see this site for some info.

3. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    Are you using an IRF540 as you say in your text, or an IRF510 as shown on your schematic?

In either case, it's an N-channel MOSFET. To turn it ON strongly, you need to bring the gate about 10V more positive than the source. But when the MOSFET is ON, its source will be at +24V. So you need a way to generate a voltage of about 34V to drive the gate. You need a "high-side MOSFET driver" IC.

The International Rectifier IR2111 (http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/IR2111PBF/IR2111PBF-ND/1928026) will do what you want. It uses a technique called bootstrapping to generate the gate drive voltage, using an external diode and capacitor. The IR2111 actually has a high side and a low side driver; you don't need the low side driver.

4. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Or, you could use a P channel MOSFET.

Bob

5. KrisBlueNZ

Nov 28, 2011