Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DCC to Arduino adaptor board

pctrainman

Apr 8, 2017
Hi , I was halfway through the process of making 3 DCC to Arduino adaptor boards using Vero board when I lost the guy who was helping me with it all , I have little electronics experience and I need help in translating the attached circuit diagram for use with Vero board ie I need to know where to position the components and where to make cuts to the board ,I have all the components and the VerOptoisolator_circuit.png.7f7aa470ae68527b20d94bbc4d2ba3ea.png o board ,any help would be most appreciated ,

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
Hello
All you need to do is make sure all the points or nodes are connected, and any components that have to be placed running with the copper on the board have a cut to isolate the component.

So for example R1, you solder this to the PCB and it just so happens that you placed in running with the copper. You would turn the PCB over and make a cut or use a small drill bit to isolate the track from the resistor.

You will know if this has worked by measuring across the resistor with a multi meter set to measure continuity and if you here no buzzer from the meter then you have done it correctly.

The IC OK1 will have to be placed on the PCB so you cut down the centre of the IC on the reverse side. Some videos that might help.

Thanks
Adam

pctrainman

Apr 8, 2017
Thank you Adam , the Vids were a great help along with your explanation , I think I should be able to handle it now , can I ask a further question ? that relates to a much simpler project , are resistors that are mounted vertically done that way simply to save space ? or is there another reason ?.

pctrainman

Apr 8, 2017
Thank you davenn , as space is not a conideration on this project I will do what my instincts told me and install the resistor flat as I have read somewhere that when mounted vertically they can act as antennas if there is a lot of EMF quite close which there will be in this case .