Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DC Power Supply - Choke for regulated power supply

Stuart Hossack

Apr 2, 2016
Hi,

This my first post on this forum. I’m not a beginner but not intermediate either. I have some large theory and maths gaps for the issue I am attempting to tackle. I have loads of electronics books, and the internet, to help but I can’t seem to find an answer to my question.

Any help would be appreciated.

I am building a 10 output isolated power supply unit to give 9, 12 and 18 volts (depending on the value of voltage regulator I use). It's a simple design which uses multiple individual transformers to give multiple isolated power outputs. The unit is for guitar effects pedals and so ultra clean and smooth power is paramount to avoid hum and ripple noise issues for some of the older and simpler circuits where noise on the supply (coupled with high gain) is easy to produce, amplify and hear.

The psu design is from General Guitar Gadgets and works nicely (I have bootstrapped it together to test voltages) but I want to add a choke before the voltage regulator for “belt and braces” noise reduction. And of course I want to resolve this before I etch the 10 boards.

I have attached a pic of a similar psu design (off the internet) to the one I'm using, which shows a choke but doesn't give a value(s). I have seen values of 10 henries for valve amplifier supplies but the size is quite large for the project – and I’d need ten of them so I'm not even sure if an effective choke would be small enough or available to use.PSU with choke.jpg

Hope someone can point me in the right direction and offer advice.

Thanks, Stuart.

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014
No-one has explained this to you:

If you only use the voltage that is well below the ripple, you will not get any hum.
Just supply 24v and only use 18v.
Use 2,200u for each amp.
The choke is not needed.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
What is the transformer AC secondary voltage (RMS or peak to peak)?

What is the load current?