Maker Pro
Maker Pro

DC Jack spark

bascotie

Aug 21, 2013
Hi guys,

I fix computers for a living, but component level repair has always been something I felt I didn't know enough about, due to not knowing enough about testing electronic components.

In a more recent example that I'm trying to understand, i replaced a dc jack on a laptop motherboard. After quite some effort, I was able to remove the jack, remove enough of the solder to plug in the new jack, and solder it back in.

The laptop works, but when I plug the power adapter in 'hot' (when i plug the adapter into the outlet first, then the laptop), I get a small spark.

So I have a couple questions.

1) Since the problem is more immediate, how can I trace the cause of something like this down, and fix it? I did order another dc jack and am waiting on that, just in case it's the jack itself that's faulty.

2) For my line of work, is there a good electronics learning resource I can use to do my job better when it comes to component level repair?

Thanks!

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
1) The spark comes from the adapters output charging the laptop's internal capacitors almost instantaneously. Check the output voltage of the adapter when not connected to the laptop. Is it within the rated voltage? Some adapters may have an open circuit output voltage that is considerably higher than rated. The voltage will drop to nominal once the laptop is connected. A higher than nominal voltage may, however, damage the notebook. The manual for my notebook explicitely requires to plug in the adapter to the notebook first, then to the mains outlet. This is a good idea in your case, too.

2) Google 'basic electronics tutorial'

bascotie

Aug 21, 2013