Connect with us

Curcuit design help needed, help.........

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Piooly, Oct 29, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Piooly

Piooly

Oct 29, 2012
    Hello everyone, I have just come across this site and thought it might hold the answer to what I am looking for. I am trying to design a product that has some electronics. The problem is I am a good mechanical designer but when it comes to electronics, I have no idea so I am looking for help if I anyone fancies a new project.

Basically I need to make a device that will measure a pulling pressure from say a rope to the device in grams/kg and display this output on some form of indicator. Ideally it would have a few modes like easy, medium, advanced etc to take account of pre programmed pressure variables. It also needs to monitor and output the "pressure" constantly, so for example the pressure will vary continually. It needs to be powered by a battery too.

Ideally the indicator would be a LCD output or something along those lines, something that displays an actual number and not just light a bulb up.

So there we are, is this something Anyone could help me with or do I need to post this message in a different area? Thanks to everyone on advance that replies.

Oliver.

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    What sort of loads are you considering? You're probably looking at a strain gauge of some sort.

You can purchase a complete unit with display for under $10 (for 100 gram resolution up to about 100 kg from memory

3. Harald Kapp

Harald Kapp Moderator Moderator

Nov 17, 2011
    A portable scale for travel luggage might be "abused" for this purpose.

4. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    yeah, like this one.

5. Piooly

Piooly

Oct 29, 2012