Connect with us

Crystal oscillator start-up times

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by zirissjk, Feb 12, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. zirissjk

zirissjk

Feb 12, 2013
    Hi,

I'm new to electronics forums and only a beginner circuit builder. I'm looking to find the start-up times of various crystal oscillators primarily OCXO stratum class. I know it is difficult information to find due to the random start nature of crystal oscillators but still need to find min/max start times and was wondering if anyone here can point me in the right direction. I've spent hours and hours google searching with no luck. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated.

2. john monks

john monks

Mar 9, 2012
    This is a typical diferential equation problem. It is a damped harmonic problem and I refuse to work it out because I have already rightfully accused of doing peoples homework for them.

I can tell you in short that it is a function of the inverse of the band width. Generally crystals have a narrow band width or Q so generally the turn on and turn off times are much longer than a LCR circuit.

Last edited: Feb 12, 2013
  3. zirissjk

zirissjk

Feb 12, 2013
    Thank you for the quick reply. I'm more of a hobbyist new to the field. I'm playing around with time of flight circuity systems and am trying to broaden my understanding on oscillator functionally. Taking no courses on the subject my knowledge base is limited to search engine results limited library access and a few free online courses. The part that keeps me from understanding how to even begin to structure a formula is from what I understand:

"An oscillator crystal has two electrically conductive plates, with a slice or tuning fork of quartz crystal sandwiched between them. During startup, the circuit around the crystal applies a random noise AC signal to it, and purely by chance, a tiny fraction of the noise will be at the resonant frequency of the crystal"