Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Creating an digital PB board

SteelCityColt

Sep 15, 2017
Hello there, complete novice looking for some advice on a project that I would like to make as a gift for someone. I’m trying to create a “PB Board” for a running friend similar to something like this:

7177a86504a4fbeb98aebda8d468dfa8--wipe-board-running-medals.jpg

But rather than it be a hand written affair I’d like to digitise the numbers to try and ape an athletics score/timing board, along these lines:

field-display-535x350.jpg

As an idea here’s a very quick outline I knocked up:

Drawing2.jpg

The design criteria so far I’ve had in my head:

• Ideally battery powered so it can be hung on the wall without trailing power to it
  • Each timing field been controlled by simple push buttons on the side to control setting the digits, similar to setting a digital watch (Press and hold to enter “set” mode, one button moves to the next digit, one changes the digit)
  • Yellow digits to fit in with overall theme
  • In an ideal world the name at the top to be displayed electronically too, but I think this might be a step in complication too far
From reading around it sounds like the best way to achieve this would be using 7 segment LEDS (to get the “look”) and building a circuit for each timing field that are then connected in parallel to the power source. I may be way off here, but from my limited understanding I’d need a LED driver for the displays that is in turn manipulated by a PIC(?) based on the button presses. Most things I’ve read up on are controlled by an Arduino which seems overkill for what I’m trying to do.

Power wise I’m concerned this would be way too much for running off battery, in a very ideal situation I’d use some form of vane display so power is only used when the numbers are changed (backlighting wouldn’t really be required), but these aren’t readily available and would be quite bulky I imagine.