Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Create Memory/RAM

RaulJ

May 6, 2014
Hello, I am a beginner in electronics and i would like to create an 8-bit computer, or something similar. I already made the ALU and now i have some problems with the memory/ram. Is it possible to create memory out of transistors and how?(i don't want to buy the ram for it, i want to make everything from scratch, because i want to understand how it works) I already made latches, but i don't know what's next. I connected 8 latches and i know that i need at least 16x, but i don't know how exactly to connect them and coordinate them(I know in theory, but I don't know exactly in practical, i need a circuit diagram or something).

And sorry if i posted in a wrong section.

Thank you for your time :D.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hello Raul and welcome to Electronics Point :)

Hello, I am a beginner in electronics and i would like to create an 8-bit computer, or something similar.
You're a beginner? Why not start with something simpler. Perhaps a spacecraft, or an MRI machine! :)
I already made the ALU and now i have some problems with the memory/ram. Is it possible to create memory out of transistors and how?(i don't want to buy the ram for it, i want to make everything from scratch, because i want to understand how it works)
I already made latches, but i don't know what's next. I connected 8 latches and i know that i need at least 16x, but i don't know how exactly to connect them and coordinate them(I know in theory, but I don't know exactly in practical, i need a circuit diagram or something).
Yes, you can make RAM from transistors... a LOT of them! I guess you're using the traditional "single bit static RAM" - a bistable multivibrator made with two transistors. So you've made eight of them, using 16 transistors. But to address this byte, and read and write it, you'll need to add a truckload more transistors.