Maker Pro
Maker Pro

COUNTER ELECTROMOTIVE FORCE

phoenix4031

Apr 30, 2012
Hello!
I'm the new kid on the block. I hope I'm doing this the right way. OK! First things first.
HEEEEEELLLLLLP!!!!
My wind turbine is capable of (listed) 3.5Kw. It produces rectified DC power.
1. Can I connect the Wind Turbine (WT) directly to an inverter? I've attempted to do so
and as soon as I made the connection the WT started braking.
2. Some one said something about COUNTER ELECTROMOTIVE FORCE. I'm studying
that phenom now.
3. How can I make the connection without the WT breaking when inverter is connected to it?
4. Is a battery bank REALLY a requirement?
YOUR INPUT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!:cool:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Firstly, don't hijack other people's threads.

My wind turbine is capable of (listed) 3.5Kw. It produces rectified DC power.

You probably mean "rectified AC".

1. Can I connect the Wind Turbine (WT) directly to an inverter?

Probably not. the power falls to zero at the end of each half cycle and so will the output of your inverter. Use it to charge a battery.

I've attempted to do so
and as soon as I made the connection the WT started braking.

It will do that because you're putting a load on the turbine.

2. Some one said something about COUNTER ELECTROMOTIVE FORCE. I'm studying
that phenom now.

That's nice.

3. How can I make the connection without the WT breaking when inverter is connected to it?

You can't unless you don't want to draw power from it.

You probably want something that does maximum power point tracking.

4. Is a battery bank REALLY a requirement?

Almost certainly.

phoenix4031

Apr 30, 2012