Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Controlling electronics from my computer

Bert

Nov 22, 2011
Hey there! I'm a total electronics noob, but I've been fascinated by this stuff for as long as I can remember and I finally have a project in mind that requires probably more than a bit of know-how in this field. Basically, I want to control a guitar amplifier from my computer. Turn the knobs, flip the switches, etc. (electronically, not robotically. I'm guessing I would be replacing or bypassing the knobs and switches somehow). I'm sure there is a way to do this, but I haven't the faintest idea how to get started. Has anyone ever done this? I realize I may just need to start from the beginning and just learn electronics, but I wanted to see if this had already been done or thought about. If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be amazing.

davelectronic

Dec 13, 2010
Hi bert welcome to the forum. i dont know for sure if music gear can be powered / controlled from your pc, there are electronic interface boards and programs for the pc, so to hazard a guess i would say yes there is, but i am not totally sure onthe best interface board for your music needs, hopefully a member with the pc interface experience can help out on a choise of intrface board for you.

alfa88

Dec 1, 2010
Most electronics these days use digital controls as apposed to analog (potentiometers variable capacitors etc.). The heart of the digital control is a controller chip that turn the pushbutton 1s and 0s into the varied output, On occasion I have seen motorized potentiometers that I suppose could be controlled by a microcontroller A Google search will reveal a plethora of sources. I would recommend that you pick up a microcontroller trainer kit to get your feet wet. Oh, and welcome.

Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
There are easy ways and there are hard ways...

The hard way is to make a robot that will flip the switches and twiddle the knobs.