Connect with us

Connector for satellite docking mechanism

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by cathal, May 19, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. cathal

cathal

Nov 23, 2014
    Hi,

I'm an aviation engineer and currently doing an extra thesis on spaceflight engineering. I have to design a system that allows two small satellites (really small 30x10x10 cm) to dock in outer space. the following link is an image of such a satellite:

[​IMG]

The docking mechanism has to provide fuel, data, power and load transport but i'm a mechanical engineer so my knowledge of data transport is very limited :) The current interface of the docking mechanism would be like the image shown below:

[​IMG]

As you can see i transport power by two electrical tabs. Now, I want to do data transport in the same way: a few electrical TABS to allow an I2C connection. Would that be possible? With this question I mean: would the data signal travel through the tabs or is the signal to small? Or are there any other problems?
    The reason why I don't just use a standard connector is because it would be impossible to insert the connectors of both satellites into each other. The positioning of the two satellites wouldn't be precise enough and the force needed to insert the connectors would just push away the target satellite (in space there's nothing that would keep the target satellite at his position).

Thanks in advance!

Cathal Clavie

2. shrtrnd

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
    Maybe an electro-magnet for coupling?
    You'll want to consult with an electrical engineer concerning signal strength and connection parameters.

3. cathal

cathal

Nov 23, 2014
    Well i'm already using an electromagnet for soft-capture of the target satellite, but that's not really the problem. My problem is the connector itself. Perhaps I have to ask my question different;