Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Connecting 20 3v LEDs in series?

gfurther2

Jun 21, 2012
I need to connect 20 3 volt 20mA white LEDs. I am very new to electronics, but I want to connect them in a series circuit because they're spaced about 5 feet about and the whole circuit makes a circle, so I could save half the wire. I'm using a 3 volt power source (2AA batteries), but this is only temporary to see what the LEDs look like until I get a power adapter. Here's my question: I connected 5 LEDs in series to just make a mini model, and the LEDs didn't light! But when I connected them in parallel they lit up. So I did some research online and found out that to connect 20 of these 3v LEDs in a series circuit I'd need a 60 volt power source? (3 volts for each LED). I want to use my 2AA batteries because I know I can't get hurt using the 2AAs, but I don't know about 60 volts. So do I have to connect these LEDs in parallel and waste another 100 feet of wire, or is there a way to wire them in series. Or any other way to do this without using 2x the amount of wire!

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
you need to connect them in parallel yes, but you dont have to waste that much wire, it was making a loop yes, but if you make a loop to the farthest one, and back, then tie off of that loop for the rest you should achieve you goal

you should note though that if the LED's require a full 3 volts to turn on then you may not see anyhting even in parallel, batteries are rated under no load, under load they will read lower

gfurther2

Jun 21, 2012
So I've decided to use the parallel method, and I want to use a 9 volt power source (wall adapter). I know all the formulas, V=IR and all that from high school. I just have no idea how to apply it? And these current limiting resistors... Where do I put them? What size do I need. Been trying to figure this stuff out for years.

gfurther2

Jun 21, 2012
9 volt supply voltage, 20 3 volt LEDs at .02 amps. So (9-3)/.02 = 300 ohm resistor

Or