Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Connected space heater

syoutsey

Nov 16, 2013
Hey all,

I'm looking at building a setup which will act as a remote on/off switch for a space heater. I plan on buying a heater with a switch that you can essentially unplug from the wall to turn it off and plug it in to turn it on.

I'd like to build, using an Arduino or Raspberry Pi, something that will poll an internet resource and turn the heater on/off. Using the Arduinos pin outs I'm hoping I could accomplish this. I can handle the software side of the device (I'm a software engineer by trade) but would love some help on what kind of hardware to get setup. A relay connected to the Arduino? Any input would be great.

Thanks!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
When you say "remote controlled" are you meaning "wirelessly avtivated" or are you talking about using a low level control signal along a cable (e.g. a 5V signal or an open/closed circuit that carries a few mA).

If you want a small signal through a wired interface, there's no need for an arduino. Just a signal cable, and a transistor to drive a relay (plus a few ancillary components)

If you're thinking wireless, then perhaps you could read this thread where an option that you could use was raised (but probably abandoned due to a better solution being found)

https://www.electronicspoint.com/serial-wireless-communication-t265255.html

syoutsey

Nov 16, 2013
When you say "remote controlled" are you meaning "wirelessly avtivated" or are you talking about using a low level control signal along a cable (e.g. a 5V signal or an open/closed circuit that carries a few mA).

If you want a small signal through a wired interface, there's no need for an arduino. Just a signal cable, and a transistor to drive a relay (plus a few ancillary components)

If you're thinking wireless, then perhaps you could read this thread where an option that you could use was raised (but probably abandoned due to a better solution being found)