Connect with us

Completely Dumb Question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Nathon, Feb 1, 2012.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Nathon

Nathon

Feb 1, 2012
    I am completely green when it comes to building circuits... as can be gathered from this question. I am an experienced software developer, systems administrator, system builder, etc. but that does me absolutely no good here. :)

I am building my first circuit which in the development world would be called my "Hello World" application. As is suiting, it's a 555 timer (don't laugh please). That went in just fine and is working no problem. Now I'm trying to add an LED to it to indicate power and to blink on the output. However, as has ALWAYS happened to me since the beginning of time, I cannot seem to figure out the right resistor to use and I just keep flowing LEDs.

I've calculated that I need about a 800Ω resistor (work shown below), but I measured the voltage and it's barely changed at all. I have a 20KΩ Trimmer that I used to test (no LED) and even with it all the way up it gives me less than 1/2v drop. I only have the resistor on the positive side. Am I doing something wrong (I guess the answer to that is obvious)?

For this I have 12V supply and am assuming my resistors are 1.7v at 15mA since they're not marked and that's the safest assumption I can find based on the various resistors I see online.

Formula: V=I*R -or- 12=.015*R
    Rearrange for R: R=V/I -or- R=12/.015
    Answer: 800Ω

Thank you in advance for not laughing me out of the forum! Have a great evening!

2. Raven Luni

Raven Luni

Oct 15, 2011
    Greetings from another software developer. I hope your sense of humour is as good as mine :p

Anyway - your calculation seems fine (you should also subtract the voltage drop from the LED before dividing but its always better to go with a higher resistor value to be safe).