Maker Pro
Maker Pro

coaxial and voltage/amps

Someguy

Nov 6, 2015
Hi,

I am new to electronics , there is something that ha been bothering me for a while (amongst many other things). How do tvs handle a high voltage coming in through a lightning bolt into the aerial? Or / and how would they react to say a few hundred volts getting into it? Obviously it will disrupt the signal but will it blow anything out? Is it different now with 'flat' tvs?

How much can tvs handle? Is this something manufacturers take into consideration, or is it something that is so unlikely it is not worth thinking about?

Someguy

Nov 6, 2015
..and the same for cable/satellite boxes If it had a few hundred volts put to it would it blow something?

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
How do tvs handle a high voltage coming in through a lightning bolt into the aerial? Or / and how would they react to say a few hundred volts getting into it? Obviously it will disrupt the signal but will it blow anything out? Is it different now with 'flat' tvs?

They don't .... anything more than a couple of volts into the receiver section of the TV is likely to permanently damage it
anything more than 100V or so leaves visible damage. The induced 100's to 1000's of volts of an indirect to very close lightning strike totally blows them apart.
Those really high voltages arc all through the TV and other items and generally destroys them
Induced ot direct strikes via the antenna is not the only source. much severe damage is done to household electronics
and the buildings as well that are connected to the mains power wall outlets. Direct and induced strikes on power lines along the street can feed 10's of 1000's of volts into buildings where it vaporises power cables in the walls and causes building fires. That is over and above the high voltages that flow into your TV, DVD, computer fridge/freezer and anything else connected to the main power

here's an example of lightning damage to a FM transmitter installation .....