Connect with us

clicking from main board on a panasonic TX-42AS650B smart tv

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by RICHARD GRAY, Jan 11, 2018.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. RICHARD GRAY

RICHARD GRAY

Jan 11, 2018
    HI, i am trying to repair a TX-42AS650B i have replaced the power board, main board and t con board but it has not resolved the problem that i started out with that is "i have got back lights but no sound and no picture?" i have a clicking sound coming from the main board. i have done all that i can think of as i am new to tv repair. could anyone please advice me on maybe what this problem could be?, reguards richard.

2. kellys_eye

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
    Can you see a picture - use a torch and look at the screen from a sharp angle. If the backlight isn't working you can, if you're careful, still see the picture.

Either way, the clicking is from the over-current protection circuitry (the power supply constantly tries to 'start' but is shut down due to a fault condition elsewhere).

Start by removing the power cables from the individual boards in the set - see if you can identify which cable stops the clicking.

If you have LED backlighting then a shorted LED is common. Repair requires dismantling of the screen - sometimes accessible from the back of the TV, other times requiring the removal of the actual LCD panel - a sphincter-rattling experience.

The LED will be part of a strip of them - one or more will require replacement. They are 'keyed' (left/right) so you need to order the right bit. They are, fortunately, simple plug-in units but, as mentioned, getting the screen apart is often the hardest part.

3. RICHARD GRAY

RICHARD GRAY

Jan 11, 2018