Connect with us

Circuit with piranha leds

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by RedQueenie, Oct 4, 2017.

1. RedQueenie

RedQueenie

Oct 4, 2017
    Hiya, I'm trying to make a small lightbox. I'm using a box photo frame and in the past have used a 9v battery with a switch and 5 LEDs. This has worked ok but I'd like to make it smaller. I was wondering how many piranha LEDs could I power with 2 CR2032 batteries placed on a circuit board? The reason for the circuit board is so I can place the LEDs more neatly than having to tape them in place. I'm a complete beginner and would appreciate any help :)

2. bushtech

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
  3. RedQueenie

RedQueenie

Oct 4, 2017
    Crikey just reading the first couple of paragraphs has caused my brain to smoke! I'll get some more coffee and try again. Do you know the short answer though? :)

4. bushtech

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
    we're going to need the specs of your led

5. bushtech

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
    Look, we've pretty much got the blind leading the blind here, but as long as you get your mind about this bit from the link I posted, you'll be fine: "LEDs are inherently unstable when operated from a voltage source. The answer is to operate them from a current source as the manufacturers intend."

And don't shoot for the maximum current the led can handle. Drop it down a bit and the led will be a happy chappy.

6. bushtech

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
    And if I've got something wrong will the wise men on this forum please advise

7. RedQueenie

RedQueenie

Oct 4, 2017
    Hiya thanks for trying to help. I naively thought if the battery volts and the number of lights needed to be lit were known the blanks ie the volts of each light could be filled in. I'll have a proper sit down later and read through the article you've provided and also have a look to see what LEDs are available. They don't need to be super bright just need to work for a while :)

8. Audioguru

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016