Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Circuit to indicate charge remaining in any battery bank

Migo

Oct 25, 2014
Hi Guys,

i'm new to this thing.

i need a circuit that can indicate the amount of charge left in any type power bank. does it exist? where can i find it?

thanks

Last edited:

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hi Guys,

i'm new to this thing so please bare with me.

i need a circuit that can indicate the amount of charge left in any type power bank. does it exist? where can i find it?

thanks
No.
You have a circuit that can tell you the current Voltage across the terminals, and can tell you the current amount of amperage it is putting out.
You can also build a circuit to measure the amperage capability of a power pack...
In order to tell how much charge is left, you need to determine the charge characteristics of the power pack.
I suggest you take a look at various discharge graphs for different battery chemistries.

If you build it for a specific type of pack, you can determine the remaining charge by looking at the voltage when the pack is under load. This same circuit will not reliably work across different battery chemistries though, and will be even worse for detecting charge level left in a supercapacitor power bank.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Estimating the amount of energy in a battery is difficult because of factors such as temperature and the age and condition of the battery.

You can try to estimate it by measuring the battery's terminal voltage, with no load and/or with a known load, but both of those factors affect the result you will get.