Connect with us

Circuit rectification help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dc22, Mar 30, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. dc22

dc22

Mar 30, 2014
    Hi I'm a bit of a noob on the topic and want to learn more about electronics but I just cannot get my head around this question. If somebody could assist me I would be really grateful

The question is basically saying that a given circuit has been made wrong - where it should be designed to work as full adder (taking 3 binary inputs and adding them together to O/P Sum and Carry). I have to change two of the gates to meet the specification. Here is the circuit screen dumped http://gyazo.com/1eb6102f482e5a7b67437ad213e36423 :confused:

Do I just need to think nand equivalents or what? :confused:

Thanks

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    Correct. I would say that the circuit would fail in any logic family I'm aware of.

Before I looked at the logic, I would concentrate on required conditions for the logic gates to operate in both of its states.

3. dc22

dc22

Mar 30, 2014
    What I have to do though is actually replace two of the gates with something else which I'm not sure of in order for the circuit to perform as full adder?

Thats what I am unsure of :confused:

4. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    No, Steve is talking about the actual electrical characteristics of the circuit, not the logic - yet. Your gate inputs are being driven from switches from VCC, but logic gates need valid logic levels at their inputs at all times.

5. dc22

dc22

Mar 30, 2014
    Yes, the circuit is driven by VCC? Do you mean that the actual structure of the gates is incorrect? if so that it the issue i wanted to resurrect in the beginning on me starting this thread, i said " I have to change two of the gates to meet the specification"

thanks

6. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011