Connect with us

CIRCUIT FAULT... please help

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting and Repair' started by NT15MCP, Mar 22, 2011.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. NT15MCP

NT15MCP

Mar 22, 2011
    I have a small circuit issue. I've been working with electronics for almost 10 years and this fault makes no sense to me. If you can explain the indications I have I would appreciate it.

Background: This is a split-phase A/C motor control circuit. There is an automatic control for the motor that turns it left or right and a manual control switch to turn it left or right if another switch is selected to manual. The motor will not turn in either direction and both auto and manual power sources have been verified good. The motor windings are verified good, the resistor is verified good.

Troubleshooting: First we checked the resistances of the switch positions for the switch S-1 since we were initially informed that the motor worked only in auto control. Swith S-2 was placed in Manual for these checks. The red arrows show the contacts checked with S-1 in LEFT position. These contacts read an OL resistance condition. Contacts 3 and 4 while in LEFT read 0 ohms as expected. In the RIGHT position contacts 1 and 2, as well as 5 and 6 also read 0 ohms. We replaced the switch with a new switch verified to be good and received the same indications in circuit.
    The motor windings and resistor were verified individually to be the proper resistances via terminal connections at the motor. Leads were lifted on S-2 contact 5 for both wafers to isolate the capacitor and the capacitor was checked with a Huntron Tracker and a Capacitance meter. The Huntron Tracker image is reproduced on the schematic.