Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Circuit Element for variable current control

Blue Bomber Fan

Aug 23, 2017
Hi everyone,

I am new to electronics and have little experience. I am working on a prototype and need some advice from you experts. I am needing to incorporate into my circuit an element that controls the current flow in real time. To be more specific, I have a device running with 2 sources in parallel; one source is variable and the other can be constant. Ideally, what I would like is to dial in a desired current into such a circuit element which I would need to constantly flow throughout. So if the variable source dissipates, the element will allow more current to be drawn from the more constant, reliable source to compensate and make that current whole again. What is such an element called, is it easy to buy, how expensive approximately, and do you recommend where I can buy one?

This is all DC btw.

Thank you so much in advance!

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
What are the sources? What voltage? What current?

Blue Bomber Fan

Aug 23, 2017
Thanks! This is an LV application, and while I don't know exact details until it's built, I am expecting about 10 V and less than 5 A

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
B.B.F., Must be Winnipeg'er !
For parts I use DigiKey, next day delivery.
M.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
In the general sense it is the load that decides the current, there is means of current regulators such as configuring a LM317 as a current limiter.
What kind of currents are we talking and the application type?
M.

Blue Bomber Fan

Aug 23, 2017
In the general sense it is the load that decides the current, there is means of current regulators such as configuring a LM317 as a current limiter.
What kind of currents are we talking and the application type?
M.