Connect with us

Circuit Design Tool ???

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by mjc, Feb 16, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. mjc

mjc

Jan 30, 2014
    Hi guys, is there an on line circuit design tool for non-engineers that I can use to ----- Create a circuit then submit it to the tool and it will tell me if it will work? I have designed an LED circuit to create lights on deck posts in my yard. After doing much research about LED's I have made a circuit to support 9 LED's at one post cap but my dilima is if I put multiple post caps in that 12v/120w ciruit what is the limit ect. ect. I found an led wizard that says I can put many leds in Parallel which I would assume the post caps would be but I would perfer to see my finished circuit to be sure it will work before continuing . Thanks MJC, HV Master by trade- LV hobbiest by Heart.

2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    hi there

have a look at this tutorial on LEDS
    see if that helps, come back with any other questions :)

cheers
    Dave

3. jpanhalt

jpanhalt

Nov 12, 2013
    If you are looking to find a program that will test whether a circuit will not work, consider LTSpice from Linear. It is free. If it works in LTSpice, it will probably work in real life. I don't think there is any simulator that will tell you whether a circuit will work.

http://www.linear.com/designtools/software/

John

4. shumifan50

shumifan50

Jan 16, 2014
    @davenn thanks for the tut link, it is most informative and I learned a lot.

Following the tutorial on the link given by davenn, it seems like a nice solution is provided by this single chip constant current regulator:
    Constant Current Regulator

It contains a suggested circuit for driving strings of 10 power LEDs ( a single post for your project) at less than £3 per post. The application notes also provide designs for suggested protection circuits.