Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Choosing power supply requirements

Brennon

Jan 11, 2013
Hi all,

I am very new to electronics and trying to understand some basics. I have searched the forums for a previous Q&A that may help but I don't appear to understand in full what I get back.

My question is, when designing a circuit, how is a power supply requirement figured out? I see some designs that require 12V others 5V but I dont understand why the difference.

Is this a case of adding up all the component requirements in some other value (amps etc). The main point of confusion comes from being able to run components in parallel and in series with the same power supply (etc - 2 or more 5V servos running of a single 5V supply)

Any help or link to educated me would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
well it depends on what parts you are using, if you have parts that operate off of 12 volts you will need at least a 12V supply, you have to look at your highest voltage required device to determine the voltage of the supply, and then add the total power consumption of the circuit then go a little over that.

For example if you had a circuit that has 5V parts, and 12V parts with a total power consumption of 10W based on all of the components, you should probably get a 12V 1A power supply, then reconfigure your circuit to add a voltage divider/regulator to get the 12V down to 5V where needed

With your example of the servos you would want to run the two in parallel so that both see 5V, if you put them in series (assuming both are identical) they would each only see 2.5V off a 5V power supply.

Look on Google for "calculating voltage and current in series and parallel circuits" or something along those lines

Brennon

Jan 11, 2013
Thank you Mr Giant.

So to clarify, the power requirement is based on the highest voltage component requirement Max down and then regulated to suit each component. The amp requirement based on the sum of all component draw values?