Maker Pro
Maker Pro

'Chasing' LEDs

rossdoggah

Feb 26, 2016
Hey guys, new to the forum go easy on me!

Okay so I'm trying to think of ways to replicate this
(skip to two minutes in).

So what I want to do is have about 4*15 LEDs sequentially light up, just like it did in that video.

I have basic c knowledge and could write up code for a small scale version however I have no idea where to start with this.

Any help will be appreciated.

cjdelphi

Oct 26, 2011
Shift register(s) and transistors (in ic form) and a micro controller for ease of use

Colin Mitchell

Aug 31, 2014
Shift register(s) and a micro controller for ease of use
If you have a micro you don't need shifty registers. The micro is shifty enough.

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
Hey guys, new to the forum go easy on me!

Okay so I'm trying to think of ways to replicate this
(skip to two minutes in).

So what I want to do is have about 4*15 LEDs sequentially light up, just like it did in that video.

I have basic c knowledge and could write up code for a small scale version however I have no idea where to start with this.

Any help will be appreciated.
As mentioned partially above, a shift register will be your friend here.
Essentially, a shift register works with one input, and many outputs. (And a clock)

The simplest method would probably be to take the original turn-signal output and tie it to the input of the shift register. Make a basic clock source with a 555-Timer and tie that in too.
*Shift registers can be daisy chained together to control many more individual LEDs if you desire.
The behaviour will be slightly different from the video, but the circuit would be incredibly simple.