Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charging two separate batteries with a single power input?

JohnnyHN

May 11, 2015
I recently made my own bluetooth speaker; I have no previous experience with something like that, just thought that it'd be something fun to try. One problem that I encountered was ground loop noise coming from the bluetooth receiver and amplifier being powered from the same 12v battery. I was able to get rid of the noise using a ground loop isolator made by Pyle (PLGI35T), but I also lost some bass from the audio. Now I'm thinking of making another bluetooth speaker, but using two separate batteries (one for the amp and one for the bt receiver) to avoid the ground loop problem, rather than using an isolator and losing some of the audio range. I would like to have a single input for charging the batteries though. I'm thinking that if I throw in a relay that will normally have the two batteries separated and put them in parallel with power applied, that should work. I just wanted to bounce the idea of some folks who are smarter than I am to make sure it was an alright idea and not a recipe for disaster.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Ground loop noise normally refers to AC powered circuits. There should be no problem powering both the receiver and amplifier from the same battery. What kind of noise are you getting?

Bob

JohnnyHN

May 11, 2015