Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charging & Powering at the same time.

Lower232

Jan 20, 2014
I am new to this forum and require some help. I am just starting out with electronics and have placed a £20 wager with my son that i can build the ultimate camping friend. This is a box that can charge 2 mobile phones, power 12 led lights a small computer speaker amp and have a built in speaker. It is to be run from 2 packs of 10 aa rechargeable batteries. Both giving out 12 volts. thus 1 being used and the other as the back up. I would like to be able to plug this unit into the mains when the batteries are flat not only to charge them but to use at the same time. The charger will be a 12volt input one. I was going to dismantle a battery charger and use the circuit board from that but i am not sure of the wiring or is there a better way using diodes?

Please help me win my bet....... he is 14 and i would hate to think he beat me !!!

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Without knowing the current draw of the chargers, the LEDs and the speaker amp, I cannot say whether you would win or not, but my gut feel would be to bet on your son. 10 AA cells is barely enough to give a full charge to two mobile phones.

Bob

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Tell me the current draw of the LEDs and the amplifier, then we can talk :)

Edit: Oh, and how long they must be powered. If you say a few seconds, you probably win.

Bob

Lower232

Jan 20, 2014
Hi