Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Charger for a Kindle

markcomp

Feb 20, 2012
First of all, apologies for this first post from someone who last studied physics 38 yrs ago:)
I have just bought my son's a Kindle each in the hope it will encourage them to read - it does, so far so good.
I charge them from the pc/laptop etc but an additional charger would seem a useful idea esp on holiday. As I already object to the waste (and cost) of having to buy a charger everytime I buy a new phone, I looked at the charging rate for the kindle: 5.25 volts max 500mA. My LG phone charger is 5.1 volts and 0.7A (700mA?).
Am I correct in assuming that the LG charger (same fitting as kindle) will only output what is drawn from it, i.e. the kindle will draw the current it needs ratehr than receive 700mA.
Am I going to do any harm?
Sorry if I am showing a degree of ignorance over modern chargers - when i studied chargers they were heavy steel cores and lots of copper wire!!!
Thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You are correct in your assumption. Your memory from 38 years ago is excellent (I'm only 5 years behind you in "years since I did physics", so I'm not making fun of you)

markcomp

Feb 20, 2012
Thanks steve, I am glad I have found this forum, (although it was just for the kindle question originally) especially as am trying to look at integrating my solar hot water / boiler / heat exchanger which all do great things in their own way, but getting them to talk to each other is another matter - I am developing a healthy respect for heating engineers and the associated electronics!

peter.mitchell

Feb 17, 2012
Additonally, the resistance between data +/- will need to suit the kindle to put it into charge mode, it is likely it will, it is usually a standard of 0-120 ohms.

markcomp

Feb 20, 2012