Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Changing the speed of a walkman motor with motion

foundry

Aug 4, 2013
Hi there,

I'm new here. I'm not very experienced working in electronics, although i love to experiment. I was hoping someone may be able to shed some light on a problem i'm having.

I'm currently working on an interactive art installation.

My idea is to alter a series of old walkman cassette players so that as people move around them, the speed of the motor changes.

I know that when walkman batteries become weak, the tape gradually slows down. This is the effect i would like, but so far i've only been able to shut the motor down entirely.

Essentially i would like it so that when someone is close to the walkman/sensor, or walks past it, the speed slows down, and when they move away it returns to normal.

I thought that using a motion sensitive switch (or potentiometer?) of some kind may work, but i'm really lost as to what components might be available for this, and whether this is in fact possible.

I did already try an LDR, but i couldn't get it to work.

The walkman runs off two AA batteries.

It seems like a simple idea, but perhaps it's something that's actually quite complex to achieve. Either way, any light anyone could shed on this would be a real help to me.

Thank you!

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Detecting people is most easily done using PIR sensors. There are some PIR modules available quite cheaply that could be used to trigger a mosfet which shorted out a resistor in series with the batteries or something similar.

You would need to determine if a simple resistor in series with the batteries gives you the change in speed that you desire.

The way I have described it, the motors would run slow until someone walked in front of the sensor. Then they'd go back up to speed.

You'd probably want to run the walkmen (is that the plural of walkman?) from an external power supply so you don't have to mortgage your house to buy batteries all the time.