Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Changing Signal Frequency And Frequency Overtones Respectively

peleg68

Jun 21, 2015
How can I build a circuit that receives a sound signal(not a pure frequency) and outputs a modified signal so that the properties of the sound are kept but the main frequency is changed and all it's overtones are changed respectively?

The circuit also needs to be able to "convert" to different frequencies, I assume this can be done with a variable resistor.

I'm a newbie, I don't know much about electronics, I have an idea for a project and I need help.

Thanks in advance!

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
Welcome to the forum.

A resistor will not help, this is a complex job.
You could analyse the incoming signal using a fast computer running a fast fourier transform. This would give the frequency of the fundamental and the harmonics. The frequencies could then be changed and the signal reconstituted. This is beyond my ability.

peleg68

Jun 21, 2015
Welcome to the forum.

A resistor will not help, this is a complex job.
You could analyse the incoming signal using a fast computer running a fast fourier transform. This would give the frequency of the fundamental and the harmonics. The frequencies could then be changed and the signal reconstituted. This is beyond my ability.
I would really like to do this completely electrically with no computers/micro-controllers involved.

But, suppose for a moment I managed to isolate the fundamental frequency and the harmonics, how can I change their frequency?

Thanks for the help.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
I would really like to do this completely electrically with no computers/micro-controllers involved.