Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Changing a motor's direction each time power is supplied

StewartVivonne

Mar 15, 2014
I hope I can get some help here, I'm a heating engineer with not much electronics savvy, and I need to modify the motors on one of our products.

It's a motor that turns, controlled by a timer. so it turns for 10 seconds every hour. because it always turns in the same direction it sometimes gets itself in knots (it is used for vacuuming up wood pellets in a silo)

So I'd like a relay, a DPDT relay for example that will change the ploarity of the motor each time it is supplied.

It is a 220V motor with 2 coils, one working coil and one starting coil (wired to the condensor)

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Stew

Fish4Fun

So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!
Aug 27, 2013
Stew, Welcome to the forum! I understand what you want to do, but there are a few questions that need to be addressed before anything more general that "wire it like a two switch light circuit" can be given as an answer....

Code:
1) At what level do you want to implement the control:  

a) In the logic that controls the motor.....

b) On the  power side of the motor control....

Code:
2) You state that the motor is 220v, and that it
has a starting coil and a run coil, but you 
haven't given quite enough information....
What type of motor are we dealing with:

a) Single Phase 220Vac ...
     if so, do you know for a fact that it is reversible?  
     A large number of single phase AC motors are 
          simply not designed to be reversed. 
b) Three Phase 220/240Vac...
     if so describe the existing control circuit...
c) 220v DC motor....
     while unlikely it is possible, 
     so, again, describe the existing control circuit
d) AC/DC Servo....
     again, while unlikely, describe the existing control circuit

Code:
How big a motor are we talking about?  
     1/2hp, 5hp, 50hp?    
     While the size of the motor may not 
     impact the logic of the design,