Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Change DVD player from ac to 12v dc

marscont

Oct 6, 2012
Hello, I'm new to this forum, hope I'm in the right place and my pics don't cause any problems. It might help to say I'm a novice with electronics, at best.
I would like to alter this dvd to 12v dc to be used in a van. It's a front load, metal case and fits the removed vhs player slot perfect.
I have lots of pics but the quality is poor. I could draw the circuit in paint if that would help.

Thanks

Attachments

• p3p 015.jpg
    p3p 015.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 474
  • pow 004.jpg
    pow 004.jpg
    54.5 KB · Views: 437
  • p3p 001.JPG
    p3p 001.JPG
    50.1 KB · Views: 375
  • pow 003ccc.jpg
    pow 003ccc.jpg
    94.8 KB · Views: 444
Last edited:

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
You'll have to find the secondary voltages of the mains power supply.Probably you'll find 12V and 5V, maybe 3.3V or even another voltage. You will then have to find or design a power supply that generates these voltages from 12V. The hard part will finding out the power requirements for the different voltage rails.

May I suggest an alternative: Use a 12V -> 230 inverter (or 115V, depending on the AC input of the player). Place this converter between the van's battery and the player.

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
It's great (and unusual here) to see such a detailed and complete first post, with voltages marked, even!

This is definitely possible, but not simple.

I have little experience with automotive audio. Others on this forum probably have more. Also you should do some Googling for some of the keywords I mention here. I'll tell you what I know.

First, you will need to deal with interference and surges on the automotive +12V rail. It would be best to do this outside the player because electromagnetic interference is notoriously difficult to contain.