Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Carbon monoxide monitor calibrator

MIKE1

Oct 5, 2010
Hello my name is Mike and I am new to electronics. I have been a chief electrician for an underground coal mines for 10 years so I have a good electrical base just not much in electronics. Anyway here's my problem, I'm wanting to make a trouble shooting device using led's for a carbon monoxide monitor we use, to help some of my electricians when working on them. They have a 28 VDC supply so I have a good source for my led's. They have a pin on them that when read to ground has 235 millivolts at 0% CO. This is what I need to turn the led on because we have a potentiometer that we have to adjust occasionally. I thought of just simply using a transistor to turn on the led but then I found out that most of them have to see 700 millivolts to turn on (remember i'm new). Any help someone could give would be greatly appreciated thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The main problem with building equipment of your own that you use to calibrate other equipment (especially that where failure can lead to death) is that you not only have to calibrate it, but you have to somehow determine its stability, since the calibration of any instrument is no better than what you are calibrating from.

I would want to be very sure that I was not breaking any of dozens of rules and regulations in this area before I did this. In the worst case you could be found liable if someone dies as a result of CO poisoning.

Having said that, the solution is to use a comparator and have a stable source of 235 mV with which to compare the signal to. The output simply drives a LED.

Your 28V neatly becomes +/- 14V and as long as the CO detector's output is referenced to your 0V rail (the middle one) or as a second preference the -14V rail (0V in your original 28V rail) then you shouldn't have too much difficulty.