Connect with us

Car Battery Powered House Ideas, Questions

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by kamilavalamp, Aug 4, 2015.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. kamilavalamp

kamilavalamp

Aug 4, 2015
    Hi, everyone.
    I am a hobbyist with expert computer and mechanical skills, but I only have basic skills with general electronics
    so I have a few questions about an idea of mine.

My Idea is to power a house year round using only car batteries and 12V Power Inverters. This house would have a TV, Computer, Lights, all the comforts of home. I would like to give each room it's own dedicated power supply using this method. Is this Idea feasible? My main concern is how long each battery would last before It had to be recharged\replaced? I plan on using the heavy duty 4000 amp car batteries that people use to power their sound systems and I wouldn't want to be recharging\replacing batteries every day. My second question is how much juice things around the house use up? Would 1 or 2 of these batteries per room be enough to do the job. Like I said I only have very basic skill with general electronics so any advice would be appreciated especially if there's some variable here I don't know about. -Thanks in Advance.

Tinker Unique likes this.
  2. Gryd3

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
    Something to keep in mind, is that those car audio guys usually upgrade their alternator to put out more current.
    This means that the battery in the car is *not* used as the primary power supply. The battery is only used during peak power draws, and is often supplemented with large capacitor.
    Now that you know that, it's time to go into more details:

Do an audit and determine how much 'power' each of your devices use. Add these values together for a 'peak' draw.
    Once you have this information, determine how many devices will be on at any given time. Add these values together for a 'sustained' draw.