Connect with us

Capacitors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by biferi, Oct 12, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Scroll to continue with content
  1. biferi

biferi

Oct 12, 2016
    Hello everybody I am new to the WebSite and I am a Computer Graphics Tech. and a Computer Repair Tech.

I am Back in school to be an Electronics Repair Tech. and need some help.

I am at the point of Capacitors and I am having a hard time understanding how to use them.

I know if you Hookup a 25 microfarad Capacitor to say a 9 Volt Battery it will charge to the same 9 Volts as the Battery.

And yes I know how you use a Resistor with it to get your Time Constant TC of how long it will take for the Capacitor to Charge.

And yes I know it takes 5. TCs to Fully Charge a Capacitor.

But when you get a Capacitor you get it at the Charge you want it to hold say 25 microF or 12 picoF or what have you.

But I do not understand what a Farad is.

Lets say I have a 9 Volt Battery and a LED that takes 3 V at 20 mA to run.

So I connect a 900k Resistor in Series with the 80 microF Capacitor and the 9 Volt Battery.

Then I know to get my Time Constant I do this
    R x C = 72 then I do this
    72 x 5 = 360 TC.

So this tells me when the switch is closed the Capacitor will take 3 Minutes and 60 SEC. to Fully charge.

Ok so I understand the Capacitor will have 9 Volts and it will have a charge of 80 microF but if I take this Capacitor and Hook it up to the LED that needs 3 Volts and 20 mA I know I use a Resistor to bring the Voltage down but how do I set the Current?

How many Amps are in 80 microF?

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 13, 2016
  2. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    Hi
    welcome to EP :)

well you should be able to discover that very easily ;)

The current is set by the resistor
    have a read of our LED's resource

https://www.electronicspoint.com/resources/got-a-question-about-driving-leds.5/