Connect with us

Capacitors and Leds

Discussion in 'LEDs and Optoelectronics' started by Tigermoth, Mar 5, 2014.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Tigermoth

Tigermoth

Mar 5, 2014
    Good Morning All.

I am a novice at this so please excuss the terminology if not correct. I am trying to devise a circuit to light seven small, white LEDS in a train model (Vf=3.0 V, 30 mA each). The power would be straight DC (from the track), maximum about 16 volts. I plan to run the LEDs at a much lower current (about 10 mA or less each). The LEDS would be connected in parallel, each with their own resistor. I am going to use a Schottky bridge rectifier (since I want the LEDS to come on regardless of input polarity and I want the lowest possible Vf) and a voltage regulator (LP2950, again for the low Vf)). I understand the voltage regulator requires an input and output capacitor to function properly. I want the LEDs to light at the lowest possible input voltage and would like them to stay lit for about 10 seconds after the power is interrupted. I realize this is going to require a super capacitor in the range of at least .33 F. I think I have three options:

1. Install the capacitor between the bridge and the voltage regulator which means, due to the higher voltage a super capacitor cannot be used (unless in series) so may therefore have to use a "regular" capacitor with lower capacity.
    2. Use a 3.3 V voltage regulator and put the capacitor after the voltage regulator in which case a single super capacitor should work although the differential voltage between the capacitor and LEDs may not be suffiicent to provide enough power for the LEDs.
    3. Use a 5 V voltage regulator and put the capacitor again after the voltage regulator, providing a higher voltage differential. This would require larger resistors for the LEDs.

Thanks for any help,

Stephen

2. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    I do not think you need a Schottky bridge, any diodes will do.