Connect with us

Capacitor overcharge protection

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by AndyC1983, Jan 31, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. AndyC1983

AndyC1983

Jan 31, 2013
    Hi,

I work as a lab technician in a school and we are looking to buy a 5F capacitor. The problem is that its maximum voltage is only 5.5V and me / a kid / a teacher will inevitably connect it to a power supply above this. As they are quite expensive I would like to build a protection circuit around the capacitor to stop the capacitor charging when the voltage gets above, say 5V.

I have thought of using a parallel diode that has a threshold voltage around 5V somehow switching a transistor that is in series with the capacitor but am not really sure how to achieve this.

The added constraint is that it should be possible to measure the voltage across the capacitor as it charges from a d.c.supply and discharges through a (separately connected) resistor without the protection circuit affecting the charge / discharge curves.

The capacitor won't be used for any a.c. circuits.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy.

2. PTaylor

PTaylor

Jan 26, 2013
    There are several ways to limit the voltage. Easiest would be a zener diode. Probably 5.1V.
    Also could use an LM7805 voltage regulator.

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    The issue with a parallel zener is that if someone hits it with a power supply capable of supplying a lot of current, the zener will go short circuit.

That's not so bad, except that the capacitor will then discharge through the short circuit with a HUGE current causing it to explode.

After it has exploded, the zener is now open, the power supply charges the capacitor to well over 5.5V and the capacitor dies (not sure if it will be explosive, but there will be a lot of energy to dissipate)