Connect with us

can clock to control a stepper motor ?

Discussion in 'Sensors and Actuators' started by oatcakeandy, Jan 21, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. oatcakeandy

oatcakeandy

Nov 20, 2012
    hi all,
    i'm thinking of building a barn door telescope mount, i have already built a circuit from the internet but it does not turn the motor at the required rate (1rpm).
    so i was thinking, would it be easy to send a pulse from a clock mechanism, so that the second hand controls the speed of the stepper and giving the correct RPM ?

may be a daft question but i'm a newbie at all this and i'm also a tight arse.

thanks

Andy

2. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    1 RPM from a stepper motor will require many more than 1 pulse per second.

I would suggest that you build a 555 oscillator that runs at the required frequency to drive a stepper motor at 1 RPM. (you will need some more circuitry to convert the pulse train to signals suitable to control the stepper).

You will also need to make this variable over a small range to trim the oscillator to the correct frequency (it will change a little with temperature and battery voltage). The easiest thing to do is to adjust it until the stars stop moving.

Are you planning to use this for photography, or just to make it easier to view without continual readjustment?

3. KrisBlueNZ

KrisBlueNZ Sadly passed away in 2015

Nov 28, 2011
    A good way to generate an accurate frequency to control a stepper motor is with a crystal oscillator and a frequency divider.